Sam and DaveStax Records will be making a comeback!

I heard it today on Marketplace, a business radio show on my local NPR station. You can listen to that bit here, if you like.

Stax Records started in 1957 (a might fine vintage, if this 50 year-old must say so herself), meaning 2007 marks its 50th anniversary. Stax went bankrupt in 1976, after having provided us with some of the favorite music and musicians of my formative years…Booker T. and the MG’s, Sam and Dave, The Staple Sisters, Otis Redding, Albert King, Eddie Floyd, Johnnie Taylor, Luther Ingram and Isaac Hayes (though his devotion to Scientology is disturbing to me).

This was the place where cutting edge soul music was made through the 60’s and early 70’s. Although I was then too young to be a serious consumer at the time, and, boy, do I wish I had some of those 45’s, Stax artists were the ones I most enjoyed on the radio. Remember the time before FM radio? for me, that meant WFIL in Philadelphia.

Shortly after the early seventies I discovered pot and what was then termed “hard” or “acid” rock. The memories of those wailing saxes and driving rhythms have never left and will always hold a special place in my heart, long after I gave up on Led Zeppelin.

Welcome back, Stax. Looks like everything old is new again and ain’t that just grand?

Gotta run now. I have gardening to do, now that it’s a little cooler outside.

Enjoy!